Practice Area : Car and Motor Vehicle Accidents
- $ Car Accidents
- $ Truck Accidents
- $ Motorcycle Accident
- $ Pedestrian Accidents
- $ Bicycle Accidents
- $ Bus Accidents
- $ Drunk Driving
- $ Uber Accidents
- $ Lyft Accidents
- $ Boat Accident Injuries
Car Accident Attorney
Our experienced car accident lawyer discusses avenues of financial recovery and your legal options related to injuries sustained in an automobile accident occurring within Arizona.
What can you do to restore a sense of order and coherence to your world? How should you deal with the physical, emotion, and financial pain? How might the insurance process—and, potentially, the legal process—play out? What are the best practices?
Experienced Car Accident Lawyers in Tempe and Chandler
Our car accident attorneys in Tempe explore the statistics; the costs, types, and causes of automobile accidents. We explain what to do (and what to avoid doing) after a motor vehicle accident with Arizona law and how our law firm can help you.
What You Need to Know About Arizona Motor Vehicle Accident Law to Protect Your Rights
There is a time limit on how long you have to file a lawsuit. Take too long to get going, and you forfeit your right to compensation. This is important to bear in mind because there is a lot of work to do before filing suit. You must retain a car accident lawyer, conduct investigations, review legal doctrines, and construct your case.
In general, Arizona law says that actions for personal injuries must commence within two years. When it comes to property damage, you have five years to bring legal action.
Pick the right defendant. Some defendants have more resources than others. It is no use to sue a wrongdoer who has no chance of paying you. For instance, perhaps the driver was working for a company when he rear-ended you. If that company failed to train the driver or allowed that person to drive despite a shoddy driving history, you may be able to take action against that company (or its insurer).
Structure your case properly. Perhaps the driver or owner of the car acted negligently. The law defines this concept in a very specific way. To prove negligence, you must show that the defendant owed you a legal duty; he breached that duty; and that breach caused your injuries, which caused your damages.
Arizona is a “fault-based” state. The person responsible pays for the damages. But Arizona also follows a modified comparative negligence system in determining fault. A plaintiff must demonstrate that any fault of his own did not tally to 50% of the injury. Otherwise, the case will be dismissed.
Arizona law does not have a cap on damages. No limit exists for seeking compensation for medical bills, lost wages, property damages, pain and suffering, disfigurement, or loss of companionship.
Arizona law requires that all drivers maintain certain levels of insurance coverage as follows: Death or injury ($20,000 vehicle liability insurance); two deaths or injuries ($40,000 vehicle liability insurance); vehicle and property damage ($15,000 vehicle liability insurance); and uninsured motorist coverage (equal to insured’s injury coverage).
Typically, the insured will file an insurance claim under their policy for medical bills, property damage, damage to their car, etc. However, if you are injured, you will typically want to obtain insurance proceeds from the at-fault party. The at-fault driver may not have any insurance coverage. In that case, you can either make a claim with your insurer or sue the driver for damages. Collecting from uninsured defendants can be difficult, but the court does have the power to set up payment plans, garnish wages, and suspend licenses.